Is Embodied Carbon Scope 3 for design teams?

Hi everyone, I am an Architect at LMN and we have been calculating/buying offsets for our office (energy use, supplies, commutes, travel, etc) for over a decade. I have asked many smart people whether embodied carbon is a Scope 3 (per Greenhouse Gas Protocol Corporate Value Chain (Scope 3) Accounting and Reporting Standard.) or not, with most architects suggesting it is not part of their Scope 3. My position is that we should, but should agree on it as an industry, thus this email. The only person who agreed is Alex Ianchenko, who responded with this from the GHG Protocol chapter on Identifying Scope 3 Emissions:

Indirect emissions are emissions that are a consequence of the activities of the reporting company , but occur at sources owned or controlled by another company .

All indirect emissions (not included in scope 2) that occur in the value chain of the reporting company , including both upstream and downstream emissions.

Any thoughts? Anyone know someone at GHG Protocol that can weigh in on this? Embodied carbon emissions are nearly 300 x our office emissions annually.

3 Likes

Wouldn’t the embodied carbon emissions and the operating emissions of the buildings you designed be attributed to the building ownership? Otherwise there could be double counting - if this logic was applied to the General Contractor there could be triple accounting. Congratulations on your long-term commitment to reduce your corporate carbon footprint!

Bob Redwine, Structural Engineer

Hi Bob,