How does an architect compare assemblies

I am an architect. How do I go about a comparison between two (or more) wall assemblies? We are looking for low carbon solutions for a facade and are studying options - like the ones listed below.

How do I go about this? It’s an early design stage so it does not need to be 100% accurate, just enough to give a sense of the relative CO2e/m2.

Would EC3 be able to do this? Would the information all be there?
Or should we be looking at another tool (Tally, Cove, OneClick, etc.).
I’m not looking to become an LCA professional, I just want to provide our firm the capability to lead early design decisions.

An example of 3 options:

Precast Concrete

• 200mm Precast Concrete
  • 215mm Closed Cell Spray Foam Insulation
  • 152mm Steel Studs at 400 o.c.
  • 13mm Gypsum Board

Cementitious Panels

• 10mm Cementitious Panels
  • Gasket
  • 30mm Air Space
  • Vapour Permeable Moisture Barrier
  • Horizontal Z-girts
  • T150 Thermal Spacers
  • 150mm Semi-rigid Insulation
  • Vapour-permeable self-adhered membrane
  • 13mm Fibreglass Faced Exterior Gypsum Board Sheathing
  • 152mm Engineered Steel Studs
  • 100mm Closed Cell Spray Foam Insulation
  • 13mm Gypsum Board

Metal Panels

• 38mm Composite Metal Panels
  • 25mm Air Space
  • Horizontal Z-girts
  • Thermal Spacers
  • 150mm Semi-rigid Mineral Wool Insulation
  • Vapour-permeable self-adhered membrane
  • 13mm Fibreglass Faced Exterior Gypsum Board Sheathing
  • 152mm Engineered Steel Studs at 400 o.c.
  • 100mm Closed Cell Spray Foam Insulation
  • 13mm Gypsum Board
2 Likes

Hi Lloyd,

I think there are a few potential resources that you could utilize since you just want a comparison and not necessarily a full LCA on the wall assemblies. These are all free tools.

1. Payette’s Kaleidoscope tool: Kaleidoscope: Embodied Carbon Design Tool - Payette