IECC 2024 comments

I want to strategize an approach to include embodied carbon in the 2024 IECC. Since the code works directly with operation energy conservation I’m unsure how to position embodied carbon, perhaps laterally. Even if EC doesn’t make it into the national code I think commenting is worthwhile to promote regional policy. A brief call and a push in the right direction are all I’m asking.

Thanks!

1 Like

This is an excellent suggestion…
Codes/Ordinances are reactive, yet I think we have a responsive code body in USA.

Please go on www.iccsafe.org and check out the latest news (oct. 21) from BSJ (building safety journal).
Those interested may wish to subscribe to above website.
I am a practicing architect and have been working with ICC on many issues for many years.
Cognizant of the important of climate change, ICC is sending a delegation to COP26/Glasgow_Scotland.

As to how to get IECC (Residential & Commercial) to begin considering carbon management, i suggest to go into the sustainability council webpage and check out recent deliberations (code change proposals). ICC Sustainability Council (includes IECC & IgCC) staff liaison would be very happy to provided guidance. Let us develop a work plan and I can make the introductions.

Hi Kai,
The study we did with the Canadian federal government recommended examining a metric that combines operational and material emissions, so that different parts of the country (with different fuel sources, climates, material options, etc) are able to balance operational and material emissions in the best possible way. You can download the report here: https://www.buildersforclimateaction.org/uploads/1/5/9/3/15931000/bfca-enercan-report-web.pdf
I know this approach is starting to get some traction within Canadian code circles, so perhaps it will be of interest to IECC.