A Guide for Graduates

Hi everyone,

I wanted to start a conversation that might help people who are just coming into the field of embodied carbon and Life Cycle Assessment. Thank you again to the few CLF members who I’ve already reached out to individually.

Personally, I’ll graduate next spring with a Bachelors degree in Civil Engineering and I plan on being a structural engineer. I’ve had some experience creating an LCA as a research assistant on campus, but I haven’t taken any formal classes on LCA or embodied carbon.

Here are four questions I think college graduates might have:

1. To be involved with embodied carbon in your work do you think it’s best to get into research/academia? (for me this could look like continuing on for a Master’s Degree/Thesis in structural engineering)

2. As a junior structural engineer, do you think it’s realistic to think one could get a job where embodied carbon is a big part of what you do?

3. As an architect or structural engineer, does “being a part of reducing embodied carbon” really come down to choosing low impact materials and designing efficiently? Is there more practicing architects/engineers can do, whether it’s in a small or large firm?

4. Do you think one possible path as a career could be to specialize in a low impact material, like Cross Laminated Timber (CLT) or low-embodied carbon concrete?

Thank you for your time! I hope other college graduates can find this topic helpful.

And if you think this post would be better suited in a specific category I can move it there.

Thanks!

-Malcolm

2 Likes