How to become an LCA expert?

I’m an architect by training and have been taking in many webinars/tutorials/groups/books/articles on LCA but would like to know if there’s a more formal way (via coursework, intensive training or other) to become an expert in this topic. Are there paths beyond self-directed online learning and practicing with the standard tools (tally, etc)? Interested in academic programs, post-professional coursework, research. Thank you!

2 Likes

There are some academic programs, though I am not personally familiar with them so will leave it to others to contribute in that area.

In case you are not familiar with it, I will share the American Center for Life Cycle Assessment (ACLCA). https://aclca.org/ It is a great community of practice that offers webinars, training, workshops, committees, etc. There is also the LCACP (LCA Certified Practitioner) exam available for those experienced in LCA looking for a credential.

The annual conference will be virtual Sept 21-24, with pre-conference workshops on Sept 20 that have a lot of good training content.
https://aclca.swoogo.com/aclca2021/1309479
An LCA Institute track is offered throughout the conference which is heavily focused on introductory content, along with regular sessions that can get much more into the weeds.

We’re a friendly group, so if you haven’t connected with us, consider attending the conference.

Cheryl Smith (Owens Corning)
ACLCA Industry Committee Co-Chair

3 Likes

Thank you Cheryl, I’ll check it out! I didn’t know about this group, appreciate the links.

Lara, there is/was a course through Harvard Extension School’s Sustainability Program (Life Cycle and Supply Chain Sustainability Assessment | Harvard University) that might be of some value. However, it may be more rudimentary than you’re looking for.